Planning Board

The Planning Board is a citizen advisory board elected by the Board of Commissioners and established under the authority of G.S. 160A- 361 & 387.   The Planning Board shall review and make recommendations on Text Amendments and Rezonings; and render opinions on all issues and petitions related to the Ordinance and other land use plans which require approval by the Board of Commissioners.

Member Name Term Expires
Harold Broadwell  June 30, 2017
Ruth  van der Grinten June 30, 2017
Gilda Wall June 30, 2018
Kathe Schaecher June 30, 2018
Victoria Curtis (ETJ) June 30, 2018
 Lloyd Lancaster June 30, 2019
 Ashley Anderson (ETJ) (2nd term) June 30, 2018
Vacant June 30, 2016
Errol Briggerman (2nd term) June 30, 2019

 Staff Liaison: David Bergmark, AICP, Planning Director, (919) 365-4448

 Membership and Terms of Office

The Planning Board consists of nine members.  Based on the proportionality of residents in the Town and residents in the Extraterritorial Jurisdiction (ETJ), six members of the board shall reside within the corporate limits and three members shall reside in the Town’s ETJ. 

Representatives from within the corporate limits shall be appointed by the Wendell Board of Commissioners.  Representatives from the ETJ shall be recommended by the Wendell Board of Commissioners to the Wake County Board of Commissioners for appointment.

In-town members shall be appointed for three-year staggered terms.  ETJ representatives shall be appointed for a two-year term.  Either class of representative may be appointed for a consecutive term, but after two consecutive terms a member shall be ineligible for reappointment until one calendar year has elapsed from the date of termination of the second term.  A list of current members of the Planning Board can be found below.


The Planning Board typically meets on the third Monday of every month.