Men's Polar Bear Softball Tournament

The 2020 Polar Bear Adult Men's Slow Pitch Wood Bat Tournament is November 7, 2020. The entry fee is $225.00 per team.  If you have any questions, please email Kelley Connolly or call 919-366-2266.

2020 Polar Bear 

To Register a Team Online Click Here

Wendell Parks and Recreation hosted it’s 13th Polar Bear Softball Tournament on Saturday, November 7, 2020.  This is a very unique tournament, since the Men must use a wooden softball bat.  All the tournaments during the year are played with composite bats that are high priced for the results of the long ball, but this tournament brings back what the game of softball is all about – defense.  We had 4 teams play for this year’s title – 2nd Family, B & B, Gcrew, and Alphin Farms.  We played a "NO Glove" single elimination inside a double elimination tournament.  All the tournament games were played at Jake May Field, located in Wendell Park.  This field is a 300 foot field and homeruns were definitely in play this year.  We did have 3 homeruns. The final game of the Polar Bear was won by a 3 run walk off homerun by Timmy Mickey in the bottom of the 7th inning with 1 out.  It was a great tournament and we hope to see everyone back next year.   

We played 9 ball games and Alphin Farms went undefeated with 5 wins and were crowned the 2019 Polar Bear Champions.    

 2020 Champions - Alphin Farms
Alphin Farms 9, Gcrew 4
2nd Family 17, B & B 5
Gcrew 12, B & B 1
Alphin Farms 6, 2nd Family 2
Gcrew 20, 2nd Family 1
Alphin Farms 14, Gcrew 12



2020 "NO Glove" Champions - Gcrew
Players were not allowed to use a glove, batted a 16 inch softball and could lead off the bases.  Bases were set at 60 feet and the pitching rubber was set at 38 feet.  This was a lot of fun to watch. 

Gcrew 17, B & B 6
Alphin Farms 18, 2nd Family 2
Gcrew 11, Alphin Farms 10